Consign Your Best Items with Lelands. We Also Pay Cash on the Spot! Learn More Here.

20th Century Horse Racing Celebratory Balls Memorabilia (3)

20th Century Horse Racing Celebratory Balls Memorabilia (3)

1) 1937 Preakness Ball Program: Held on the evening of the Preakness Stakes, won by Triple Crown champion War Admiral. The only writing in the 64-page program appears on just one page, containing some very tough signatures to obtain including Alfred G. Vanderbilt and Charlie Kurtsinger, the winning jockey. Articles on the Maryland Jockey Club, the Preakness, and Maryland horse farms are featured. An invitation with RSVP and return envelope for the following year’s Preakness Ball is also included. 2) 1939 Santa Anita Ball Program: The awards banquet was held on the evening of the Santa Anita Handicap. The program is bound with a beautiful gold and blue woven cord and the pages are each separated by tissue paper. The seal of the Los Angeles Turf Club and a lithograph of Stagehand, the 1938 winner of both the S.A. Derby and S. A. Handicap graces the cover. Although Seabiscuit narrowly lost that year’s S. A. Handicap, owner Charles Howard did win the 1939 renewal with Kayak II. 3) An exquisite pair of dice from the 1943 Kentucky Derby celebratory banquet. Each has been inscribed with: "KY DERBY 1943." The race, won by Triple Crown champion, Count Fleet, was almost cancelled. This was at the height of World War II and the U.S. government did not want traffic to interfere with transportation of supplies. In spite of the request to not drive, 65,000 attended the “Street Car Derby.” These extremely rare programs and dice are all NM-MT.

Past Sports Card, Memorabilia, Non-Sports Card and Collecitble Auction Items

Other past auction items that may be of interest to you.

Red Pollard's Seabiscuit Saddle
Red Pollard Signed 1940 Santa Anita Handicap Victory Photo
Charles Howard Signed Sea Biscuit Print
Red Pollard in his Tragic 1938 Spill
Seabiscuit and Trainer Tom Smith (1937)
Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs
Seabiscuit v. Ligaroti (1938)
Seabiscuit v. Kayak II (1940)