Consign Your Best Items with Lelands. We Also Pay Cash on the Spot! Learn More Here.

Hall of Fame Champion Horses Admission Badges: Hindoo And Firenze (2)

Hall of Fame Champion Horses Admission Badges: Hindoo And Firenze (2)

Extremely rare, and practically impossible to find admission badges, featuring two of the most significant H.O.F. racehorses of the 19th Century. Both are in superb condition. 1). On September 17, 1881, at the Coney Island Jockey Club, Hindoo was defeated by Crickmore in the Brighton Beach Purse. The badge for the fall meeting has the number 12 signifying the specific day of the meet and has the original string attached. Hindoo was owned by the Dwyer Bros., known for being demanding of racehorses, leading to his defeat. On the National Museum of Racing’s website, excerpts are as follows. When he concluded his career in 1882, Hindoo won 30 of 35 races, never out of the money, with 26 wins in stakes races. In 1881, he captured the Kentucky Derby and won 18 consecutive races that year. Hindoo was champion 2-year-old male of 1880 & champion 3-year-old male, 1881. In addition to Horse of the Year titles in 1881, 1882, he was champion handicap male of 1882. 2). Coney Island Jockey Club Grand Stand badge #4 for the June meeting 1890 equating to the 24th. Three stakes were run that day with Firenze, winning the Coney Island Stakes, with jockey Isaac Murphy up. The reverse is very light orange, not faded. Per the National Museum: Firenze was a standout distance winner who regularly defeated the top colts, and a model of consistent excellence against top competition. Firenze’s career record was 47 wins and 77 in the money finishes from 82 starts. She was champion 3-year-old filly of 1887 & champion older mare for 1888, 1889, and 1890.

Past Sports Card, Memorabilia, Non-Sports Card and Collecitble Auction Items

Other past auction items that may be of interest to you.

Red Pollard's Seabiscuit Saddle
Red Pollard Signed 1940 Santa Anita Handicap Victory Photo
Charles Howard Signed Sea Biscuit Print
Red Pollard in his Tragic 1938 Spill
Seabiscuit and Trainer Tom Smith (1937)
Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs
Seabiscuit v. Ligaroti (1938)
Seabiscuit v. Kayak II (1940)