Consign Your Best Items with Lelands. We Also Pay Cash on the Spot! Learn More Here.

Historic Saratoga Admission Ribbons (3)

Historic Saratoga Admission Ribbons (3)

<p>Impossible to find, Extremely Rare and likely unique ribbons were all previously prominently displayed at the National Museum of Racing in Saratoga Springs, NY.&nbsp;</p><p>1) 4th Day, August 19, 1871 (blue). One of three races on the card was won by John Harper's Longfellow in a walkover.</p><p>2) 5th Day, August 2, 1873 (white and red). There were three races that day with the partnership of John Hunter and William Travers winning the opener. The second race was the Sequel Stakes won by August Belmont's "The Ill-Used", and the last race, Harry Bassett was 3rd the Hubbard.&nbsp;</p><p>3) There was a regular six-day second meeting in 1874 commencing on August 8, with the other five days being the 11th, 13th, 15th, 18th &amp; 20th. Because of the sport's popularity, three additional race days were granted. August 12th (postponed to the 14th) and two benefit days for aquatic sports (rowing) on the 21st and for the School Village Fund on the 22nd were added.&nbsp;</p><p>No specific date was listed for the light-colored ribbon with the blue lettering for the second meeting in 1874. It could be for the entire meet or for the 18th, where Aristides, winner of the next year's inaugural Kentucky Derby, won.</p><p>All ribbons are in excellent plus to near mint condition. They are all silk, contained in an archival presentation case, and considering their age, are in terrific shape. These items represent the beginning of the sport at one of the most famous racetrack venues and are truly historic relics.&nbsp;</p>

Past Sports Card, Memorabilia, Non-Sports Card and Collecitble Auction Items

Other past auction items that may be of interest to you.

Red Pollard's Seabiscuit Saddle
Red Pollard Signed 1940 Santa Anita Handicap Victory Photo
Charles Howard Signed Sea Biscuit Print
Red Pollard in his Tragic 1938 Spill
Seabiscuit and Trainer Tom Smith (1937)
Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs
Seabiscuit v. Ligaroti (1938)
Seabiscuit v. Kayak II (1940)