Consign Your Best Items with Lelands. We Also Pay Cash on the Spot! Learn More Here.

Outstanding 1888 Currier & Ives Original Print of The Futurity Race at Sheepshead Bay

Outstanding 1888 Currier & Ives Original Print of The Futurity Race at Sheepshead Bay

This is an absolutely fantastic opportunity to own this superb print, purchased for over $5000 several years ago from the premier print shop in the country. It is the finest known of this great racing scene, and is in amazing, pristine condition with wide margins. It has never been framed and is protected in a matted cover. The print measures 34x20 1/8" and the original oil painting is prominently displayed at Saratoga Springs, NY, at the National Museum of racing. The artist was the famed artist, Louis Maurer, and was signed in stone. The Futurity at the time was the richest horse race in the world and kept that honor for many years. Proctor Knott with talented black jockey Shelby "Pike" Barnes beat champion Salvator, with another black jockey aboard, Anthony Hamilton. Both jockeys are in the Hall of Fame. The noted turf publication of the time, Turf, Field & Farm, on page 400 of the April 4, 1890 issue, wrote this is "the most costly and elaborate racing picture ever published in this country. It is printed in 14 oil colors on Royal Plate Paper, limited edition. The Thoroughbred Racing Association consists of national leading racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers, and affiliated horse racing assns. In 1945, they published the book: Thoroughbred Racing and Breeding. The organization stated this print deserved special mention, and is exceptional, ranking with anything of the kind since produced, but is now very difficult to secure.

Past Sports Card, Memorabilia, Non-Sports Card and Collecitble Auction Items

Other past auction items that may be of interest to you.

Red Pollard's Seabiscuit Saddle
Red Pollard Signed 1940 Santa Anita Handicap Victory Photo
Charles Howard Signed Sea Biscuit Print
Red Pollard in his Tragic 1938 Spill
Seabiscuit and Trainer Tom Smith (1937)
Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs
Seabiscuit v. Ligaroti (1938)
Seabiscuit v. Kayak II (1940)