Sportsman’s Park Locker
This vintage locker is a hardy survivor, and enduring homage to, Sportsman’s Park, home to the Cardinals from July 1, 1920 to May 8, 1966. It was at Sportsman’s Park that the team won its first world championship in 1926, followed through the years by six more titles and nine pennants. The erector-set-like park on Grand Avenue in north St. Louis was called home by both teams until the Browns moved to Baltimore in 1954. After buying the park outright, Cardinals owner August Busch at first wanted to name it Budweiser Stadium, but eased off under pressure from the baseball office and instead named it after himself. When Busch Memorial Stadium opened in 1966, a helicopter carried the home plate from Sportsman’s Park to be used in the new stadium – as was, subsequently, the locker, one of several to be preserved at Busch. The locker offered is constructed of metal wire mesh on the left and right sides, and wood on top and bottom painted bright red, with red bordering the metallic mesh sides and a shelf near the top. Locker measures 78” high, 32” wide and 30” deep and has been wonderfully restored to its original circa 1940s condition. Note: The locker in the picture, which was displayed in the Cardinals’ locker room, is a sample and not the one winning bidder will receive, though it is an accurate representation of the one being offered. No equipment will be included in the locker, but none is needed since it is overflowing with Cardinals and St. Louis history.
(Estimate $2,000 - $3,000)